Keep reading to learn more about Mishelle, her favorite hair care products, and the unexpected conveniences that come with wearing a wig:

	Valentine’s Day: Self Love First	

“We all have insecurities. I think that by isolating and not sharing them and trying to conquer them alone, I was doing myself such a great disservice. There is so much freedom in just embracing them.” Mishelle is a firm believer that everyone has insecurities. Though they may not all be related to hair loss, we all carry them around in the same way. By being open and vulnerable about insecurities, Mishelle believes that we can build closer relationships and communities. “For me, by just accepting that I have hair loss and probably will have hair loss for the rest of my life but I’m not giving it that power over me anymore. By sharing openly I’ve seen that so many other women identify with that. It’s so awesome to have this built-in group of friends that you instantly have a connection with.” Mishelle is adamant that our worth is not defined by our looks and believes that we were created for more than just being beautiful. “We have people that have some of the best minds and hearts,” she says. “By allowing each other to see where we have shortcomings, whether it’s physical or emotional, by being open about them we allow people to embrace us for who we truly are. There is no better way to feel loved than to share yourself.”

Wig Hair Care Routine

Mishelle says that her journey with wigs has evolved over time and she is constantly learning new tips to help make them even more undetectable. With so many different wigs, styles, and colors out there, she believes everyone can find a look that suits them. “What is really important, and I mostly now wear human hair wigs,” Mishelle emphasizes, “is making sure to use a really good quality shampoo and conditioner and a heat protectant. One of the shampoos and conditioners that I started using recently are Nexxus Hydra-Light Weightless Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner. “You just want to look for a shampoo and conditioner that will allow your human hair to absorb the conditioners…. especially if you are using heated styling tools. You have to realize that the hair isn’t growing out of your head and so the natural oils that your body produces to keep your hair looking great aren’t there for your wigs.” “I like using hair masks like Nexxus Humectress Moisture Restoring Masque when my wig starts to look a little dry, I’ll do a good wash and condition, and I’ll leave a hair mask in for a few hours and come back to find the hair is baby soft. There are so many things you can do to revitalize your human hair wigs and to keep them looking really good.”

The Beauty of Wigs

Mishelle considers herself a wig addict, rotating through a few different wigs throughout the week. She sits down every three weeks or so to wash and style them. She stresses that longevity for any wig depends on using really high-quality shampoo and conditioner. “The nice part is that you style your wig, and it keeps that style,” Mishelle says. “That’s the great thing about wigs! You can style them Thursday night if you know you have a big weekend and you’ll have ready-to-walk-out -the-door perfect hair!”

Trading Insecurities for Community

When asked what advice she would give to someone struggling with hair loss, Mishelle says, “There is so much hope, there are so many resources, and the community is huge. I remember feeling that I was the only one out there struggling with this. As soon as I started letting people in, I realized there are hundreds of thousands of women out there that are struggling with hair loss. Being online and being open about it has opened those doors for community support. “I encourage people by telling that them there is an awesome community out there, you aren’t alone. I have been able to live my life to the fullest and have every experience out there. Don’t let your insecurities hold you back! I wouldn’t recommend holding it in as I did for as long as I did. By letting other people in I realize I made it a bigger deal in my head…other people don’t judge me. Everyone carries their own set of insecurities and it just makes us more human.” All Things Hair would like to thank Shanna for her vulnerability in sharing all things Valentine’s Day, self-love, and confidence!

Valentine s Day Self Love and Overcoming Insecurities - 32