The first thing you need to know? Don’t believe the common misconception that locs are easier to take care of than loose natural hair. In order for you to keep your locs healthy and thriving, you need to have a consistent regimen. I have been loc’d for six months now. I can say that this loc journey is vastly different from any of my previous natural hair journeys. Some of the steps are still the same such as washing and conditioning my hair, but the process has changed drastically.  Here are a few tips from my experience to help you along the way. 

	Loc Maintenance Routine: How to Care for Your Locs	

Keep your locs moisturized.

As with loose natural hair, you must keep your locs moisturized. You may indeed find that your locs don’t require as much moisture as your loose natural hair did, but I don’t go by that at all. I moisturize my hair regularly with water mixed with my favorite oil. Your locs can still get dry and break easily if not properly moisturized. You don’t want brittle locs that break easily. You can also use a spray leave-in conditioner like the TRESemmé Botanique Nourish & Replenish Leave-In Hydrating Mist to keep your hair moisturized.

Deep condition your locs.

I only deep condition my hair once a month when I visit my loctician. If you just started your loc journey, you may want to wait until your hair begins to loc before you deep condition. Make sure that you use a good deep conditioner like – to moisturize your locs. 

Wash your locs regularly.

If you’ve heard that you don’t need to wash your locs as much as you did your loose natural hair, let me tell you that that’s a myth! I wash my locs every month when I visit my loctician, but I know some that wash their locs every two weeks. When my locs mature more, I will wash them on a more regular basis. You can use a shampoo like Suave Sulfate-Free Cleansing Shampoo to keep your locs cleansed and moisturized.

Don’t retwist your locs too much.

I don’t like how my locs look when I get them freshly retwisted. If you retwist your locs too often, you can begin to create breakage which is something that you don’t want when it comes to your locs. Try out protective loc hairstyles so that you don’t feel the need to retwist your locs as much. 

Keep your scalp oiled.

I deal with a very dry scalp, so it’s super important for me to keep my scalp moisturized. I like to oil my scalp every three days with my favorite oil to make sure that my scalp does not dry out. You can use an oil like Love Beauty and Planet Hope and Repair Coconut Oil & Ylang Ylang 3-in-1 Benefit Oil to keep your scalp moisturized.

Protect your locs at night.

Just like a loose natural, when you have locs, you need to keep your hair protected at night. Sleeping with a satin scarf or on a satin pillowcase is very important to prevent breakage. You need to protect your locs and your edges. The best tip I have is to make sure that you always sleep with a satin cap, scarf, or pillowcase. 

Be patient.

When you are locing your hair, it’s easy to look at everyone else’s locs and want your hair to be like theirs. Let me tell you that the loc process is not an overnight one. Locing your hair is a journey just like your loose natural hair journey though it is a little different. You will learn that some people’s hair will loc faster than others. So remain patient, your locs will get to the length and thickness that you desire in due time. With all of this in mind, you should find that by the end of your locing transition, you’re a total pro at looking after your new style. Just keep the final tip in mind along the way and you’ll come out on top.  Are thinking about putting these tips to good use? Be sure to snap a picture of the outcome and tag us @AllThingsHairUS!

Loc Maintenance routine  How to Care for Your Locs - 71