Re-Vamp Your Nightstand To Help Your Marriage! We are so thrilled to be partnering with Lowe’s on today’s post all about freshening up a space in your home! Here at The Dating Divas we TRULY believe it’s the little things in a marriage that make it strong! One of those little things is recognizing the importance of a fabulous nightstand space in your bedroom. Aaaaaand, you’re probably wondering HOW a nightstand can possibly make a difference in your marriage, right? Well, read on my friends! We’ve got some super fun tips to help you make your nightstand space a fabulous place for your marriage!

I am SO ashamed to show this picture, but THIS is how sad my nightstand space was before I re-did it!

First of all, can we talk about that paint color??! I painted this nightstand myself right after we got married (almost 8 years ago!), back when I loved the color coral. But now that Joanna Gaines has graced our lives with her incredible skill of decorating with neutrals, I have been more than ready to get rid of this pop of color and go back to the basics! Plus, as much as I love that framed love letter from my hubby, it just isn’t easy on the eyes. And I desperately need to organize all those books (yep, you’re seeing coloring books in there, it’s my secret to a good night’s sleep after a stressful day!) I also have ONE other trick up my sleeve to spruce this up even more and make this a TRUE space for you and your sweetie, but you’ll have to keep reading!

For picking a new paint color and trying to decide how I would decorate this space, I knew I wanted something neutral for the nightstand itself but I also knew I would need to bring in decor that would work better with these pillows on our bed. We recently bought new bedding and for some reason, I completely neglected to tie my nightstand in with the new look. Sooooo, now it’s time! Since our walls are white, our bedding is white, and my computer desk is white, I decided to go with black for the nightstand. Basic, clean, simple, and bold! I also really like the look of flat paint on accent pieces like nightstands and dressers, so I decided to go with that! I headed out to Lowe’s to go pick out my paint color!  Here is the exact paint I used, it is Valspar’s black paint + primer in flat: Before I started painting, I took notice of these bad scratches on the top of the nightstand:

I used my fingernails a little bit to scrape off the paint that had rolled up on top, but other than that I was hoping the paint + primer would take care of the rest… and it did! Here is the nightstand after the first coat of spray:

I’ll be honest, when I left Lowe’s with my paint, I only had 2 cans in hand. I’ve done enough spray paint projects to know that it almost always takes MORE paint than you think, but I also knew this was paint + primer, so I was hoping two cans would be enough. Looking at the coverage after only ONE coat (this was one whole can), I knew that two cans were going to be perfect! YAY!

I also knew that if anything went wrong, Lowe’s backs ALL of their paint with a guarantee, so I wasn’t worried about a thing! Something else I love about this Valspar paint is that it’s ready for new coats at any time and dries to the touch within 45 minutes. So this project was COMPLETELY done (touch-ups and all) in less than 2 hours. When I was done I found myself thinking, “WHY did I put this off for so long?!” So without further adieu, here is the finished product: I am SO thrilled with the result! In just a couple of hours, I had a completely revamped space that I now LOVE and that matches my room so much better! I even replaced the old drawer pull with a cute new brass one that I also picked up at Lowe’s. It makes such a difference!

Here’s a little before and after side by side, I just love seeing the amazing difference!:

Ok, now that we have the nightstand all painted and looking a MILLION times better, let’s talk about how we can make this space work for your MARRIAGE! We have a couple little tricks up our sleeve that we like to do:

Our site’s Pillow Talk Conversation Starters are one of our favorite ways to reconnect after long days without even talking. (If we counted texts as talking, that would be a whole different story, but we both prefer those real conversations at the end of the day.) We also have these other fabulous ways to turn your nightstand into a special place for you and your hubby: And there ya have it! Your secret to success for making your nightstand a fun space to help you reconnect with your spouse! Thank you, Lowe’s for partnering with us on this fun post! This is a sponsored post written by The Dating Divas on behalf of Lowe’s.

How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 69How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 39How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 22How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 20How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 71How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 76How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 79How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 30How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 25How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 13How Your Nightstand Can Help Your Marriage   The Dating Divas - 65