Havana Twist Styles in Cuba: How This Fashion Blogger Nailed the Look

All Things Hair: What inspired you to get Havana twists for your Cuba vacation?  Khalia Harrison: For vacation, I wanted a no-fuss protective hairstyle so that it was one less thing to worry about while traveling abroad. I also wanted a break from having to style my hair in the mornings before heading to work. This past winter season I became obsessed with Havana twist hairstyles that looked as though they grew from your own scalp. It looked more natural. To get the natural look, you simply have to section a part of your hair into two and overlap them on top of the synthetic hair, continuing into a long juicy twist. The winter season weather conditons can be harsh on my dense, yet, fine hair and having it tucked away was the best way for me to preserve my strands until the warmer months. All Things Hair: What kind of hair did you buy to create the look? Khalia Harrison: I bought synthetic hair from a beauty supply store. All Things Hair: How long did the twisting process take? Khalia Harrison: It took about five hours. Mainly because I ran out of hair mid-way! I wanted my twist to be medium-sized so I used seven packs of hair in total. All Things Hair: Any tips for maintaining the look? Khalia Harrison: I wore very easy looks. In the beginning, I mainly wore my twists down with a few brushed over to the side. I eventually wore them in high buns and occasionally pulled some back on the sides and twisted them in the back. I did not like to put too much tension with pulling my twist around my crown area and always loosened them when I pulled my twist in any updo. All Things Hair: What were some of your favorite hairstyles to wear with your Havana twists? Khalia Harrison: I found spraying my scalp with a mixture of 1/2 water and 1/2 aloe vera juice alleviated any dryness or itching. It also made my hair grow like crazy! What I thought I could maintain as a protective style for at least two months lasted only a month since I felt my new growth made my twist look old. Our hair needs only water mainly to soothe our scalp as well as hydrating with plenty of water by drinking it so I’d suggest nourishing both ways! I occasionally also oiled my scalp with an oil to lock in moisture. Editor’s note: If you’re not a DIY kind of gal, you can also use a leave-in conditioning spray, like Nexxus New York Salon Care Humectress Luxe Lightweight Conditioning Mist, to refresh your hair. If you plan on wearing Havana or Cuban twist styles long-term, a dry shampoo, like Dove Detox and Purify Dry Shampoo, can help you to soak up any excess oil in-between washes. Want more protective hairstyle inspiration for natural hair? Head over to our Natural Hair page for more!

Havana Twists in Havana  Cuba with Khalia Harrison of The Coveted K - 62