You see, I’m one that celebrates the versatility of having natural hair. The fact that I can be curly one day and straighten my hair the next makes me feel like I have some form of superpowers that I didn’t know existed. I enjoy changing up my look and I like going straight for fall. Read on as I unveil my secrets:

	Tips for Going Straight for Fall	

One reason I prefer straight hair for the fall season is that I’m not just a beauty girl, I’m a fashion gal too. I like the look of beanies and wool fedoras with bone straight hair, as the latter gives a fierce finish to my look that curly hair just won’t do for me, personally. I’m sure there are others that feel the same way I do about this. In the past, the only time I flat-ironed my hair was for special occasions or when I wanted a very precise hair trim. These were the early days (about five years ago) when I was a new natural (after transitioning) and obsessed with my curls. Now, I just like flip-flopping back and forth with my look. Every time I straighten my hair, people ask about my straight hair routine and how long it lasts. It’s time I tell my secrets:

1. I go to a professional for the initial style.

That’s right: When I am straightening my hair after months of wearing my hair curly, I know its time for a trim. I let a professional do the cutting and styling for me, and the rest is in my hands. I wash and flat iron my hair on my own thereafter.

2. I wash my hair every three weeks.

Heat damage is caused by improper use of heat styling tools, by not applying heat protectants and by using heat on your hair too frequently. Washing my hair less helps me avoid the amount of excessive heat used on my hair. How do I keep my hair fresh? Dry shampoo. My go-to is Dove Detox and Purify Dry Shampoo.

3. I wrap my hair every night.

Every black girl is familiar with the art of wrapping our hair as it is a part of our culture. If you’re not that great at it, here’s a YouTube video that can help you out. Wrapping your hair at night and securing with a silk scarf will help you avoid touching up sections of hair with a flat iron in the morning. Alternatively, if I am wearing my hair in a bouncy, tousled style, I pin curl my hair instead.

4. I use preventative hair care systems.

To prep for wearing my hair straight for fall, I spend time using hair care systems that help strengthen my strands up to two weeks before getting my hair heat-styled. Your hair needs to be resilient to damage if you intend on applying any kind of heat. Right now, I’m obsessed with Dove Intensive Repair Shampoo and Conditioner. The Nutri-Keratin Repair Actives in this formula help repair damage deep inside the hair strand, and this system helps protect against future damage with continuous use.

5. I try hard not to break a sweat.

Breaking a sweat is hard not to do during early fall when it’s still warm outside. It’s even harder for those that work out often. I don’t have issues with frizz that often, but I do have issues with breaking a sweat in my scalp when I’m hot. With that said, I do my best to keep cool to preserve my style.

Going Straight for Fall  An Editor Spills Her Natural Hair Secrets - 95