Summer Morning Routine: The Hair Edition

Between the 90-degree weather we’ve been enjoying here in New York and a messy train schedule that has me waiting on the subway platform for far longer than is comfortable, I’ve been washing my hair a lot more frequently than I do in the winter months. While I’m still going through can after can of my favorite dry shampoo, most days my hair needs a real wash. Pair that with a new morning workout I’ve been trying to make a regular thing and I can’t get away with only washing my hair every three days like I used to. My day generally starts with a glass of cold water (when I can push off my coffee long enough to guzzle it down) and a quick splash of cold water on my face, followed by a simple face moisturizer (SPF included)! I throw on my workout clothes and do a quick 30-minute toning workout. By the end, I’m pretty sweaty and my hair is not looking too good. It’s usually falling out of a ponytail and I’ve got a not-so-cute halo of frizz around my hairline. Next, I shower. The TRESemmé 24 Hour Body Shampoo and the TRESemmé 24 Hour Body Conditioner are a new favorite duo of mine. The shampoo instantly lathers up,  leaving my hair clean and smelling fantastic. I follow up with the conditioner and let it sit in my hair for the duration of my shower confident that it’s softening my strands and ensuring major body.         Generally, I’m a blow-dry every time I wash my hair kind of girl but when I’m washing my hair this frequently I can’t really stomach that much heat damage. The Dove Absolute Curls Leave-In Detangler has been a lifesaver for the days when I hold back from using my heat tools and opt to air dry instead. This detangler emphasizes my natural waves and keeps my hair from inflating into a frizzy mess.     I’ll move on to breakfast (yogurt with fresh blueberries when I remember to pick them up – hello summer vibes) and have my morning coffee as I sit down to write for the day. My hair is generally dry by midday and still smells amazing from the TRESemmé conditioner and the detangler combination. Looking for more summer hair content? Check out five summer hair trends to try before the season is over. 

Beauty Editor s Take  Inside Our Assistant Editor s Summer Morning Routine - 55